7 December 2018 Three Sisters

I have devoted a garden bed to the three sisters system of planting. I’ve planted corn (heritage seeds from Koanga Seeds) in a mini corn field. Next to each corn seedling I have planted beans i.e. white beans and brown spotted beans. I had saved seeds from the last harvest. I use them as shelled and dried beans. In between the corn I have planted squash seedlings which will grow between the taller plants and help as a ground cover to conserve moisture in the warmer months. I have also added a fourth “sister” which are Cleome flowers. These are meant to attract pollinators and beneficial insects. I also couldn’t resist adding some sunflowers to climb to lofty heights together with the neighbouring corn and beans.

Three sisters planting of corn, beans and squash. 

Author: char3lie

artist, gardener, designer, pet lover

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started